What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson – Spotlight – TheWriteReads Tour

It is another wonder TheWriteReads tour. This time it’s a spotlight of Cory Anderson’s debut novel, What Beauty There Is. I want to thank TheWriteReads and Penguin for letting me be a part of this tour. I’ll be doing a full review in April of this book but for now let’s learn a little bit about this one.

What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson
Published: 8/4/21
Publisher: Penguin Imprint
Genre: Thriller

When everything you love is in danger, how long can you keep running to survive?

Life can be brutal
Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Jack knew it
Jack Dahl has nothing left. Except his younger brother, Matty, who he’d die for. Their mother is gone, and their funds are quickly dwindling, Jack needs to make a choice: lose his brother to foster care, or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

So did I
Ava lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one.

Did I feel the flutter of wings when Jack and I met? Did I sense the coming tornado?
But now Ava wants to break the rules – to let Jack in and open her heart. Then she discovers that Jack and her father are stalking the same money, and suddenly Ava is faced with a terrible choice: remain silent or speak out and help the brothers survive.

Looking back, I think I did . . .

Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Meg Rosoff and Daniel Woodrell, What Beauty There Is an unforgettable debut novel that is as compulsive as it is beautiful, and unflinchingly explores the power of determination, survival and love.

Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss and keeps you there until you’ve read every last word’ Ruta Sepetys, bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon US*


First Chapter Review

It isn’t often that a first chapter pulls me in with such compelling writing. There isn’t much to say about this other than that I could tell the moment that I picked this up I knew it was going to be amazing. There was a severe desperation in the first chapter that was conveyed perfectly. These are characters that I want to know more about and see where things take them. The suspense, the mystery are superb and I can’t wait to finish the rest of this book.


About the Author

Cory was born in Idaho and grew up an outdoor-girl in the rugged Middle Rockies. Her father, a park ranger, encouraged her to explore the woods and find “what beauty there is” in the world. He taught her to camp, and how to survive in the forest in winter. She later learned they didn’t have a lot of money, but as a child she never knew it. She had two best friends: Nature, and books.

All Cory’s life she’s felt the strong bonds of family and siblings. Her writing is based in these close relationships, and in the gritty experience of growing up in the wild Rocky Mountains. 

From an early age, Cory loved books. Her family often visited the library, where she discovered White Fang. Within its pages she learned about courage, and the power of kindness. She read all the time. By seventh grade, she was writing. For years, Cory underlined and dog-eared the pages of books, picking scenes and phrases apart until she could decently put them together again. She became fascinated with the mystery of the Great Story…read more about Cory on her Website. (Links Below)

Cory Anderson is a winner of the League of Utah Writers Young Adult Novel Award and Grand Prize in the Storymakers Conference First Chapter Contest. She lives in Utah with her family. What Beauty There Is is her debut novel.

Twitter | Instagram | Website


*This post contains affiliate links. These links help support this blog and do not raise the price of the item you purchase with them. Please consider using my affiliate links!

Related Posts

5 thoughts on “What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson – Spotlight – TheWriteReads Tour

  1. Whew! This sounds like a really intense read. I can’t wait to hear what you think after you’ve read the full book. It sounds like you’re rearing up to enjoy it thoroughly based on the first chapter!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: